2014 NAHA Finalists Announced!

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) has announced the much-anticipated finalists for the 2014 North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA). As one of the most prestigious photographic beauty competition in North America, NAHA celebrates the artistry and skill of the professional salon industry. Drawing from leading editorial, celebrity, and platform artists whose work graces top fashion and beauty magazines, runway shows, and red carpets, NAHA is the culmination of style, beauty trends and sheer artistry.

NAHAs are given in 14 distinct categories including Avant Garde, Contemporary Classic, Editorial Stylist of the Year, Haircolor, Make-Up Artist of the Year, Master Hairstylist of the Year, Men's Hairstylist of the Year, Newcomer Stylist of the Year, Salon Design, Salon MBA, Salon Team, Student Hairstylist of the Year and Texture. The highest honor is the coveted award for Hairstylist of the Year.

This Year's Finalists:

As part of this year's 25th Anniversary Celebration, PBA is encouraging finalists to post the "I'm a 2014 NAHA finalist!" graphic (above) with #NAHA2014 on their social media pages as a way for their followers to support them on their journey to NAHA.

The 2014 NAHA Awards Ceremony is open to all and will be held on Sunday, July 13, 2014 at the Mandalay Bay Resort in Las Vegas. This is an evening filled with high-energy, creative expression and artistic presentations by Aveda, jcp salon, Redken and Allen Ruiz, recipient of the 2013 Hairstylist of the Year award.

Click through to see images for each finalist! [pagebreak]

Category: Avant Garde

Chrystofer Benson, South Weber, UT

Austin Finley, Dallas, TX

Ludovic Leroy, Verdun, QC

Jake Thompson, Salt Lake City, UT

Silas Tsang, Ottawa, ON [pagebreak]

Category: Contemporary Classic
Sonna Brado, Spokane, WA

Geno Chapman, Los Angeles, CA

Shirley Gordon, Wheaton, MD

Michael Haase, Los Angeles, CA

Sal Misseri, Chicago, IL [pagebreak]

Category: Editorial

Michael Albor, Boston, MA

Geneva Cowen, Anchorage, AK

Franco Della Grazia, Florham Park, NJ

Liza Espinoza, Naperville, IL

Sherri Jessee, Bristol, VA [pagebreak]

Category: Haircolor

Berry Bachen, New York, NY

Chrystofer Benson, South Weber, UT

Alina Friesen, Vancouver, BC

Daniel Rubin, Chicago, IL

Loretta Tom, Vancouver, BC [pagebreak]

Category: Hairstylist of the Year

David Barron, Atlanta, GA

Chrystofer Benson, South Weber, UT

Anthony Cress, Costa Mesa, CA

Alain Pereque, Montreal, QC

Steven Robertson, Salt Lake City, UT [pagebreak]

Category: Makeup Artist of the Year

Katy Albright, Waxhaw, NC

Heath Bryant-Huppert, Minneapolis, MN

Janell Geason, Eden Prairie, MN

Katelyn Simkins, Denver, CO

Brad Van-Dyke, Denver, CO  [pagebreak]

Category: Master Hairstylist of the Year

Richard Ashforth & Alain Pereque, Montreal, QC

Chrystofer Benson, South Weber, UT

Vivienne Mackinder, Riverhead, NY

Anna Pacitto, Montreal, QC

Ruth Roche, New York, NY

[pagebreak]Men's Hairstylist of the Year

Marylle Koken
Venice, CA

Jorge Buccio
Austin, TX
Matthew Morris
Denver, CO

Paul Pereira
Toronto, ON

Matthew Tyldesley
Louisville, KY
Newcomer Stylist of the Year

Bailey Bute
Newbury Park, CA

Oxana Kim
Valencia, CA

Chris Rushton
Washington, DC

Carley Throgmorton
West Jordan, UT

Jaelyn Walker
Vancouver, BC[pagebreak]

Salon Design

HC Studio
Brookline, MA

6 Salon
Royal Oak, MI

Platinum Entourage
Las Vegas, NV

Schardein's Salon and Spa
Oklahoma City, OK

Zolton's Salon and Spa
Scottsdale, AZ[pagebreak]

Salon MBA

Atelier Studio
San Jose, CA

Raleigh, NC

Matthew Morris Salon and Skincare
Denver, CO

Rejuvenation Spa
Madison, WI

Salon Spa W
Des Moines, IA[pagebreak]

Salon Team

Lunatic Fringe
Salt Lake City, UT

Mainentrance Artists
New York, NY

Moods Hair Salon
Vancouver, BC

Pure Salon
Montreal, QC

Van Michael Salons
Atlanta, GA

Student Hairstylist of the Year

Angel Alferez
Wichita, KS

Jason Appel
Indianapolis, IN

Kayla Bosaw
West Chester, OH

Shie Eck
Wichita, KS

Nicole Gary
San Bernadino, CA[pagebreak]


Mark Dolan
Minneapolis, MN
Danielle Keasling
Blufton, SC

Dilek Onur-Taylor
Dallas, TX

Diva Poulos
San Francisco, CA

Lisa Vann
Seattle, WA

More in Home