NAHA Finalists Announced!

And the wait is over! No, we're not talking about the royal wedding—we're talking about the finalists for the 2011 North American Hairstyling Awards!

(Image: Jake Thompson, Avant Garde)

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) announces the much anticipated finalists for the 2011 North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA)! As the most prestigious photographic beauty competition in North America, NAHA celebrates the artistry and skill of the professional salon industry. From avant-garde and editorial styling to recognizing the business savvy nature of salon owners, winning a NAHA award is a true pinnacle career achievement. PBA invites the entire beauty industry to come together for the 2011 NAHA Award’s Ceremony on Sunday, July 31, 2011 at the Mandalay Bay Resort in Las Vegas. An evening filled with high-energy, creative expression and artistic presentations by some of the industry’s leading figures including current Hairstylist of the Year, Tony Ricci, the 2011 NAHA Award’s Ceremony is the perfect place to salute rising stars and industry icons. NAHA 2011 is part of PBA Beauty Week, which also includes PBA Symposium, Beacon, Best Practice Club, the City of Hope Charity Gala, and is hosted by Cosmoprof North America.   


Avant Garde                                
Palma Anshilevich - The Hair Spot                         
Damien Carney - JOICO                   
Dan Csicsai - Salon Glo        
Kris Sorbie - Redken 5th Ave, NYC
Jake Thompson - Lunatic Fringe
Contemporary Classic                   
Simon Chercuitte - SACO
Eli Mancha - Bang Salon
DJ Riggs - Main Entrance
Timothy Switzer - Timothy & Co Salon & Spa
Dimitrios Tsioumas - Mizu New York
Editorial Stylist                          
Damien Carney - JOICO
Amy Freudenberg - MAKA Beauty Systems
Charlie Price -  Antoine du Chez the Spa
Dimitrios Tsioumas - Mizu New York
Marshall Vanierland - Kelly Cardenas

Fashion Forward                             
Michael Albor / Donna Hamilton - The Loft Salon by Michael Albor
Chrystofer Benson -  Salon Tantrum/Matrix
Steve Elias - Elixir Salon & Spa                                                                  
Jake Thompson - Lunatic Fringe
Zahir Ziani - Red Door Spas

David Adams - redCHOCOLATE                      
Martin Alarie - Salon Pure          
Chrystofer Benson - Salon Tantrum/Matrix
David Munn / Natalie Gurley - Van Michael Salons
Dimitrios Tsioumas - Mizu New York


Hairstylist of the Year                
Michael Albor - The Loft Salon by Michael Albor
Carlos Cintron -TIGI - Lewisville, TX
Daniel Holzberger -  Van Michael Salons
Eli Mancha - Bang Salon
Charlie Price - Antoin du Chez the Spa
Master Hairstylist                           
Damien Carney - JOICO
Edwin Johnston - Cutting Room Creative
Anna Pacitto - Salon Pure
Dusty Simington - n/a
Kris Sorbie - Redken 5th Ave NYC
Salon Design
Bangz Salon & Wellness Spa
Lati & Sara Domi
Lunatic Fringe
Rebellations Hair & Beauty
Salon M Squared

Student Hairstylist                          
Caitlin Charles - Eric Fisher Academy
Christine Doerge - Eric Fisher Academy
Bella Hammer - Aveda/Fredric's Institute - Cincinnati
Holly Hui - MC College
Giovanna Simington - Golden West College Cosmetology
Salon Team                                                                                                                       
Fresh Hair Studio                                                                                                                                              
Hair Body & Sol Inc.
Jackson Ruiz Salon
JC Salons
Studio 1452


Carlos Cintron - TIGI - Lewisville, TX
Shirley Gordon - Strands Hair Studio
Jaymz Marez - Sophisto
DJ Riggs - Main Entrance
Daniel Roldan - MATRIX
Makeup Artist of the Year and Salon MBA finalists will be released Mid May 2011.  

NAHAs are given in 13 distinct categories, including: Hairstylist of the Year, Master Stylist, Avant-Garde, Contemporary Classic, Editorial Stylist, Fashion Forward, Haircolor, Makeup Artist of the Year, Salon Design, Salon MBA, Student Hairstylist, Salon Team and Texture. In addition to winning the NAHA, the 2011 Hairstylist of the Year winner will also be flown to New York City for meetings with leading consumer beauty editors and appear on the nationally syndicated lifestyle television program, BETTER.  

NAHA also salutes two professionals who have made a significant impact and contribution to the industry. NAHA 2011 is proud to present its top honor, the Lifetime Achievement Award, to Michael O’Rourke, an internationally renowned hairstylist, salon owner, educator, and businessman. NAHA 2011 is also pleased to induct entrepreneur and philanthropist, Stan Klet Sr., into the NAHA Hall of Leaders.

NAHA continues to draw from a diverse and internationally renowned list of hairstylist and makeup artists from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Australia, and Switzerland. Judges included Angelo Seminara, Kris Sorbie, Vivienne Mackinder, Tabatha Coffey, Ruth Roche,, Mary Brunetti, Darren Bain, Bennie Tognini, Robert Lobetta,, Kendall Ong, Jamie Carroll, Gary Sunderland, Heather Wenman, Karg, Antoinette Beenders, Dean Banowetz, Nicholas French, Sam Brocato, Anthony Morrison, Mark Hayes, Sharon Blaine, Eveline Charles, Leon Alexander, Jonathan Lovett, Damian Stoney, James Morrison, Damien Carney, Michael Baker, Will Bruder and several others. Via a blind entry process, entries were narrowed down to five finalists per category, and one winner in each category will be chosen.

The NAHA festivities kick off with a Red Carpet Reception at 6:30 p.m., followed by a star-studded Awards Ceremony featuring special artistic presentations, live entertainment and special guest appearances. The show will also be broadcast live, via streaming video, at  

More in Home