The Makeup Show Announces Nominees for Pro Awards' Artist of the Year




With the industry’s first ever Pro Awards making their debut this spring, The Makeup Show announces the nominees for Artist of the Year.

The Makeup Show, the largest PRO-driven beauty event that brings makeup professionals and top brands together for education and inspiration, is about to get even better with The Makeup Show Pro Awards. An industry first, The Makeup Show Pro Awards is an annual awards series that allows makeup professionals the opportunity to show their favorite products and peers a little industry love. As the awards are getting into full swing, the nominations for Artist of the Year have been officially announced.

The Makeup Show Pro Awards is a unique series because it is PRO-driven. Entirely curated by and voted upon by industry professionals and serious makeup enthusiasts, the Pro Awards recognizes products and people that are true industry favorites. The Artist of the Year category is particularly exciting because it honors the individuals that are innovating and making a difference in the industry. At a time in our industry where makeup artists are achieving more acclaim and exceeding expectations on what makeup can be, the nominated individuals have made a true impact with their artistry. These artists have, in some way, established that they are masters of their craft or have made an indelible mark on the industry this year. Open to artists working in all areas of the makeup industry, they are nominated by The Makeup Show sponsors and sponsored by MAKE UP FOR EVER.

Nominees for Artist of the Year include:

  • Sarah Tanno – Sarah Tanno is an NYC-based makeup artist who has made her mark on the industry working in film, beauty, and editorial. Her work has been featured in countless print ads and editorials as well as on television shows like the Grammys, Saturday Night Live, and American Idol, and her notable celebrity clients include Katy Perry, Fergie, and Lady Gaga. Tanno’s work has received wide acclaim and her recent work on FX’s American Horror Story: Hotel earned her an Emmy in 2016.
  • Jordan Liberty – Jordan Liberty is an LA-based makeup artist, photographer, educator, and personality with experience working in TV, runway, and editorial. Liberty is truly an artist for the modern age, as he is best known publicly for his YouTube channel where he uses social media as a tool for professional development and education. A sought-after name in the industry, Liberty has been featured in Allure, Glamour, Bustle, W Magazine, and more. In 2015, his work as a makeup artist and digital influencer earned him the coveted “Best in Beauty” award from Allure Magazine.
  • Eryn Krueger Mekash – Eryn Krueger Mekash is a seasoned makeup artist with 29 years of experience in the film and television industry working on beauty, makeup effects, and design. Her credits cover a wide range of productions, including department heading Eat Pray Love, Wakefield, and Alpha Dog. She is also the department head for FX’s anthology series American Horror Story, for which she won two Emmys, one for prosthetic and one for non-prosthetic. Mekash’s work proves that she is truly the master of dramatic makeup.
  • Vlada Haggerty – Born and raised in the Ukraine, Vlada Haggerty is a makeup artist and hair stylist who made her start in the industry in 2011 when she entered the Open Cup of Russia Independent Championship on Hairdressing, Nail-Design, and Make-Up in Saint Petersburg, Russia. Placing silver in her initial entry, this was the catalyst that started her career. Haggerty’s makeup and hair stylings have been featured internationally in magazines including Harper’s Bazaar Ukraine, Australia’s Like a Lion, and the US’s WHERE, and her top clients include Covergirl, Maybelline, and NYX.

The winners of The Makeup Show Pro Awards will receive an unparalleled recognition, as this awards show is truly by industry professionals, for industry professionals. Voting for Artist of the Year and all other categories is open and can be accessed at The Makeup Show Pro Awards and closes on May 7, 2017. Please take advantage of this unique opportunity and let us know your thoughts on the best of the best in the industry—cast your votes for Artist of the Year and more! This is YOUR industry, so let YOUR voice be heard! 

More in Events