News: The 2015 North American Hairstyling Award Winners

Screen Shot 2015 05 06 At 11 39 47 Am

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) recently announced the 2015 North American Hairstyling Award (NAHA) winners at a star-studded awards ceremony on July 12, 2015 at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas. NAHA's top honor, Hairstylist of the Year, was presented to Robert Grimes from RLG Salon in Austin, TX (see image above). This is Grimes's first NAHA Hairstylist of the Year honor. He also took home the 2015 award for the Contemporary Classic category.

NAHA honors artists in 15 distinct categories including People's Choice Award. The NAHA 2015 winners in their respective categories include:

Master Hairstylist of the Year:
Vivienne Mackinder
HairDesignerTV; Riverhead, NY

Hairstylist of the Year:
Robert Grimes
RLG Salon; Austin, TX

Newcomer Stylist of the Year:
Lizz Kopta
Salt Lake City, UT

Editorial Stylist of the Year:
Lisa Yamasaki
J's Hair Studio & Academy; Rowland Heights, CA

Men's Hairstylist of the Year:
Paul Pereira
Solo Bace Salon; Toronto, ON

Student Hairstylist of the Year:
Dustin Villa
Aveda Institute Tucson; Tucson, AZ

Makeup Artist of the Year:
Katelyn Simkins
Matthew Morris; Denver, CO

People's Choice:
Dallan Flint
Boeau Belle Salon & Spa; Irving, TX

Avant Garde:
Erika Fung
NC Salon; Markham, ON

Contemporary Classic:
Robert Grimes
RLG Salon; Austin, TX

Marlo Steenman
Hair by Marlo; St. Albert, AB

Lauren Moser
Hair Lab Detroit; Detroit, MI

Salon Team of the Year:
Local B
Outremont, QC

Salon Design:
Hairroin Salon NYC
New York, NY

Nail Professional of the Year:
Reiko Omae
JINsoon Beauty LLC; New York, NY

Held during PBA Beauty Week, North America's largest, most inclusive beauty event, NAHA drew more than 3,000 attendees to the event, while thousands tuned in to watch PBA's live streaming broadcast online at On hand to present some of the night's biggest awards were NAHA greats including Nicholas French, Nick Stenson and Fabio Sementilli. Past NAHA winner and finalist appearances included Chrystofer Benson, Charlie Price, Allen Ruiz and Dusty Simington. This year also included a NAHA first, with the addition of the Nail Professional of the Year category. High-energy artistic presentations were performed by Aveda, Matrix, Redken, and recipient of the 2014 NAHA Hairstylist of the Year award, Alain Pereque.

[Image: PBA]

More in Events